So, Patronage

September 26, 2014

I’ve set up a Patreon account. I haven’t launched my campaign yet, though I am considering it. I don’t expect it to make me any money, let alone enough money to really support me. But a boy can dream.

Mainly what’s going to come with this is a couple things.

One – if I do get support, I’m going to start updating more frequently. If I’m being paid for it, I’ll write. As it is, it’s very difficult for me to find the energy to write because I don’t strictly have to and no one seems to care outside of some phantom accounts on WordPress and a single friend who I can prattle on endlessly to about my writing ideas. This will give me a concrete reason to create more fiction. And game designs.

Two – I’m going to start interacting with those of you who do support me much more. For one, there’ll be a regular, weekly stream of me playing video games that Patreon subscribers of a certain amount would get to Skype into and influence heavily. Like having the option to decide what characters I make in Neverwinter Nights, what decisions to make in Deux Ex, or what army to play in Starcraft. There will be a separate weekly stream of me drafting in Magic the Gathering Online with subscribers being able to influence what queue I join and what kind of deck I draft.

Three – Game prototyping. Beyond beta-prototypes, which will be a subscriber only kind of thing, I’ll reserve my personal prototypes, such as handmade prototypes, for selling/giving away/prizes for my supporters.

Four – Roundtables. Two monthly¬†roundtable discussions, one for my fiction with a writing circle of subscribers where participants will have the ability to come at me directly about choices in my fiction and what kind of fiction I should be working on next. I’ll also help people parse their own fiction and do structure support and other general writing circle kinds of things. The other monthly roundtable will be discussing game design, working on game prototyping, and working on beta rules. This group will definitely always get betas and prototypes of game designs and have influence over the design process.

I really hope I can find a way to make all of this work. If I get any support at all, it’ll be a wonder but maybe, just maybe, I’ll get that and more.

Thanks for listening. First up, a poll about what I should be streaming. If you’d like to see something else, please add it in the comments. I’ll let you know if I own it or not. I’d ask about the Magic stream too but, well, I can’t draft anymore this month without a patron and the beginning of next month is reserved for the KHANS OF TARKIR pre-release and release events.

Add to the Discussion

