How to Screen a Therapist

March 13, 2014

Good information for those of us that need therapists.
Especially if you’re in a non-normative relationship or gender, possibly autistic, or one of a number of other places where traditional psychological assistance tends to attack the very fundamentals of who you are.

Disrupting Dinner Parties

So, you’ve decided to finally take the plunge and find a therapist. Good for you! Your mental health is super freaking important and you deserve to get it taken care of! I’ve gone through the process several times myself, and I know it’s not always easy. Having had good therapists and bad therapists, I certainly know all therapists are not created equal. Indeed, bad experiences in therapy can even make people feel worse, not better.

To be clear, I am not a mental health professional. Lucky for me, my mother is a clinical social worker who ruthlessly screens providers for the people she loves. After observing her, I adopted a similar process once I moved away from home.  In sharing these tips with you, hopefully I can make the task of getting help run a little more smoothly for you.

First off, “therapist” is an umbrella term encompassing a variety of…

View original post 1,171 more words

Add to the Discussion

