How to Be Skeptical of Your Own Brain

March 2, 2014

A brilliant set of pieces that reflect a lot of my own travels through pain and disability – though I’m not diagnosed depressive, I’m more undiagnosed autistic.

Research to be Done

Introduction|Part 1: Chronic Pain|Part 2: Depression|Part 3: Ideas

From one thing, know ten thousand things.

— Miyamoto Musashi


I was going to try and write an introductory anecdote for these posts, myself, when I realized that another fantastic blogger had already written one perfectly. Before you continue reading, check out this post by Ferrett Steinmetz.

I think about the only other time I hallucinated, having dropped acid on a very hot summer’s night… and I found it disappointing. Yes, my vision was flexing and distorting, and I witnessed all sorts of curious artifacts as my brain’s visual processing center went into overload – but I quietly dissected each illusion, breaking it down into its interesting components, and in such a way I reduced what could have been a wild trip down into a series of interesting quirks.

I don’t really hallucinate, I don’t…

View original post 159 more words

Add to the Discussion

