A Bit of Catchup

June 30, 2013

Soon I’ll probably be writing more! And different stuff! And not just links!

Why? Because I’m no longer homeless! Still waiting on my disability decision but a friend of mine needs a tenant yesterday, so I’ve spent today begging everyone I know for money, well almost everyone I know for money, to move in soon. And this is part of the reason I’m writing this post.

While I know I don’t have a lot of readers right now, and I probably won’t have too many readers overall on my blog (no matter how important I could possibly get – statistically unlikely), I’m hoping that some of my readers are interested in my personal wellbeing.

To go over the relevant details, I live in one of the most expensive areas of the country for poor people to live in. Orange County, California has really high housing prices, pretty high food prices, and a terrible public transit system. I, myself, am poor. Because I’m disabled, disabled in a way that prevents me from working in IT every again and that prevents me from driving safely on most days. This pretty much nixes me for any job I can do with my experience and education. For the last two years I’ve been homeless, and totally without income for the last nine or ten months. While two months ago I did have my SSA disability hearing, I’m still waiting on that decision and that may require another appeal.

Which is why I’m need to ask you if you can spare anything, anything at all, to possibly help me make it through the month.

My rent at my new place is going to be around $600 a month after utilities. I already have help paying for food, so it’s just that $600 I need to come up with consistently. I don’t have a lot of people I can ask for help around me, as most of the people I know are just as broke as I am and my family either can’t afford to help me at all or doesn’t care if I disappear. I know a lot of you think you can’t make a difference and that I’m just one person, consider something small. It only takes a hundred and twenty people at the cost of a large coffee to pay my rent. Even if I don’t make all of that, or most of it, that $5 you might be able to spare just this one time can make a huge difference. And that’s just you – if you know anyone else who might be able to spare a cup of coffee or a burger on someone in need, that helps me out even more.

So please, if you’re feeling generous, consider sending me a couple bucks while I transition from being homeless to having a home again, while I transition from having no income to having my disability insurance, and as I transition from tired and worn out to being able to work and write again.

Thank you,
Daniel A. Samuelson

You can donate through the button on the right side of the page or, if the link isn’t showing up for you, by clicking here.

One Response to “A Bit of Catchup”


  1. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!


Add to the Discussion

