An Examination of My Writing Systems

January 26, 2012

So today’s not a story day, but I still would like to say something. So I thought I’d write up a little something. Especially for the other authors that may be reading this because it’s mainly for you.

I first fell in love with writing and reading as a kid, and I grew up with Piers Anthony and Robert Asprin as my principle initiators. Eventually it grew to Asimov, Bova, Eddings, Tolkien, Brooks, Adams…it’s a long list. Those first two, though, brought me something I’ll never lose. Anthony gave me a grounding in both silliness and seriousness, alternating between the two to strengthen the story and the feeling of the writing. Asprin gave me a kind of hope, both for weaving interesting tales that swept people away, but also sharing. He fashioned a world with Thieve’s World, a shared universe where he and several other writers participated.

I’d like to share my worlds with everyone, I’d like to be able to include many authors in the worlds I fashion and flesh out. I can’t describe everything and it’d be nice to have a cadre of interested parties who do want to tell stories in a world I create. It’s both a compliment and a joy to read someone else playing with my toys.

So, at least three of the worlds I’m building I’m opening up to everyone and anyone to write in so long as they follow 3 rules.

1) You ask me when you’re curious about a ‘Rule’ of the world

2) You do not change those things that define the world, including important characters (IE, you can’t kill Elminster)

3) You respect the other authors, me included, when we write a story in this universe.

I’m willing to discuss the worlds as they come to fruition, getting input from other authors who’d love to help establish the ground floor. This isn’t just mine, it’s yours too. The rules are to protect everyone so they’re writing in the same space and same systems.

The three worlds I’m going to open up stories to are Royan (a high fantasy world where science is magic and the gods have been killed, where a portal to Earth has opened and brought colonialism, the Church, and ancient dogma back to roost), Jarvis Mac Callan’s Abyss (it’s a noir pulp sci-fi universe of hermetic magic, flying temples, and hard-boiled detectives), and Terra (a steampunk alternate universe where people in grey suits keep the Time, agents tune their senses to understand the weft and weave of actions, and Queen Victoria has been kept alive undying in a casket of iron and hatred).

Anyone interested in writing in these places with me?

2 Responses to “An Examination of My Writing Systems”

  1. Aly Hughes Says:

    When I was little I remember watching the tv show Wishbone, in the 90’s…the one with the dog? Well there was a series of like 40 or more Wishbone books, which is what first got me started on reading. I devoured all of them, childish spins on classic stories surrounding a dog? What little girl wouldn’t want to read that? haha, it eventually lead to Tolkien when I was 10, and I was deeply in love with reading after that!

    I think it’s a great idea to have other people explore your worlds. It kind of reminds me of Play-by-Post RPG’s, which I used to avidly partake in. Unless you’re thinking more of people writing fan fiction type pieces, instead of actively shaping a story with you, which is also exciting. 🙂

    • Luarien Says:

      I remember Wishbone, though I never watched the shows. I remember seeing the books everywhere, though, on those Scholastic reading ads that got sent up with us. That was back when books were totally awesome and Goosebumps was the new thing.

      It’s going to be a little bit of A and a little bit of B. Right now I’m open to full on collaborating so long as my ‘vision’ is respected, as it were. I’m not going to change some of the base directions of the world and its structures I’ve already created ’cause another author doesn’t like them, but I’m willing to move ideas around and adjust things with good arguments. Over time, though, more and more of these rules will be ‘set’ and it’ll be more like fanfiction when new authors join us, doing more storytelling than world building.

      I am, of course, always open to collaborating on new worlds as well. I think it’d be pretty cool if a bunch of us “indie authors” got together and each did a short story set in the same universe. We could do anthology releases like Thieve’s World 😀


Add to the Discussion

