A Quick Note

January 17, 2012

My normal posting schedule is going to be Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. I plan on including short stories and, after a burst of inspiration yesterday, articles about various things that I find important. I have an article planned about the difficulties approaching women primarily in geek and skeptical communities. Normally I’d post this tomorrow.

But tomorrow I’m going to support Wikipedia, Reddit, Boing-Boing, Skepchick, and others as the site pauses operation. I will not be commenting nor posting tomorrow in protest against the Stop Online Piracy Act and the Protect Intellectual Property Act. These laws reflect a poor understanding of economics, piracy, and the internet and we cannot remain silent as they are being discussed. So, oddly enough, I will be silent to protest their consideration and, maybe, help raise a little bit more awareness.

You can go to http://www.usa.gov/Contact/Elected.shtml to find your local Congressional representatives so you can tell them you don’t support PIPA or SOPA.

On Thursday I will return with the promised article. Thank you.

Add to the Discussion

